Mission CISD Public Relations Department Honored with Star Awards

Mission, Texas- The Public Relations and Marketing Department of Mission Consolidated Independent School District (CISD) has received honors from the Texas School Public Relations Association (TSPRA) for outstanding work in education communications. The awards were announced at TSPRA’s annual Star Awards Celebration held on February 22, at the Omni Downtown Fort Worth, Texas as a part of the association’s 60th annual conference. 

The Mission CISD Public Relations Department members received four Gold Star Awards, three Silver Star Awards and one Bronze Award for items entered into the annual contest. Gold Star Awards were given for district entries in: Video Promotional, Video Marketing, Video General Event, and Video Training/Instructional. Three Silver Star Awards were earned for Published Print Ad, and two Published News or Feature. The one Bronze Award was earned for Published News Release, Edited. The department received a Star Award for each entry submitted for the contest. 

This year, a record setting number of entries were received for the Star Awards contest that recognizes communicators in school districts, education foundations, education associations and organizations for their work in print and electronic media categories. There are 47 main categories covering various media such as newsletters, programs, posters, reports, writing, image/identity packages, photography, graphics, video, electronic presentations, campaigns, events, and web sites. For the first 47 categories, the entries are divided into three divisions based on the number of students the district, foundation, or organizations serves - under 15,000 students; 15,000 to 40,000 students; and over 40,000 students. Independent judges evaluate and score each entry based on its own merit. Bronze, Silver, and Gold Stars are awarded based upon set criteria.

The members of the Mission CISD Public Relations and Marketing Department are: Craig Verley, director; Cynthia Ybarra-Leal, public relations specialist; Rolando Garza, graphics and media arts specialist; Jennifer Galindo, multimedia journalist; Gerardo Sanchez, videographer; Irene Garza, secretary. 

TSPRA is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to promoting public schools through effective communications. TSPRA, an award-winning chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (NSPRA), was chartered in 1962 and incorporated in 1977. With more than 1,000 members, TSPRA is composed primarily of public information and communications professionals who serve the public school districts and education organizations of Texas. The membership also includes superintendents, administrators, principals, web/technology/electronic media and graphic professionals, education foundation executive directors and their boards, association executive directors, school consultants, vendors, and others who support public education in the state. TSPRA provides professional development, resources, and networking opportunities for members and others in the education community. 

# # #