Marcell Elementary interventionist named finalist for 2023 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award

Marcell Elementary interventionist named finalist for 2023 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award

Mission, Texas- Marcell Elementary School Global Leadership Academy literacy interventionist, Maria Mascorro-Dominguez had a surprise this morning. Representatives from H-E-B and district administrators dropped in, unannounced, to let her know she has been named as a finalist for a 2023 H-E-B Excellence in Education Award, spotlighting her as one of the best educators in Texas. The H-E-B program is the largest monetary awards program for educators in Texas, and among the largest in the nation. The honor was kept a secret from Mascorro-Dominguez, who learned she was a finalist when the H-E-B representatives visited her classroom with a cake, balloons, flowers, and a check for $1,000. Marcell Elementary also received a $1,000 check.

Mascorro-Dominguez is a finalist for the Leadership Award, which honors teachers with 10-20 years of experience. The H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, April 30 at the La Cantera Resort and Spa in San Antonio. The winning teacher announced at this event will receive a $10,00 check for themselves and a $10,000 grant for their school. 

Mascorro-Dominguez is in her 16th school year serving the students of Mission Consolidated Independent School District (CISD). In 2022, she was selected as the Campus Teacher of the Year for Marcell, the Mission CISD Elementary Teacher of the Year, and also the Region One Elementary Teacher of the Year. 

Mission CISD has had several other finalists and semi-finalists, and two state winners in the H-E-B program. In 2020, the Board of Trustees was honored with the Outstanding School Board Award. In 2019, Rita Perez from Pearson Elementary School was named a finalist. In 2017, Rhonda Peña from Bryan Elementary School won the state Lifetime Achievement Award. Rosbel Peña at Alton Memorial Jr. High School also earned that honor in 2014. In 2016, Yvette Nevarez from Alton Memorial Jr. High School was a finalist for the Rising Star Award. In 2015, Jesus Razo at Mission Jr. High School was also named a finalist for the Rising Star honors. Former Alton Memorial Jr. High School principal, Sylvia Garcia was a semi-finalist for a principal award in 2015.

H-E-B asks customers, employees, and community members to nominate teachers, principals, districts, early childhood facilities, and school boards in Texas. Each nominee is sent an invitation to complete an application online and is asked about their professional experiences, educational philosophies, and achievements both in and out of the classroom.

A team of judges reviews the applications, narrowing the field to semi-finalists. From that pool, five regional judging panels comprised of former winners, administrators, and university and community leaders not affiliated with H-E-B select the teacher and principal finalists.

# # #