group of students singing at the convocation

Mission FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team has strong showing at national competition

                The Mission FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team had a very successful showing at the 86th Annual National FFA Convention. The team is the first parliamentary procedure team from the Rio Grande Valley to compete at nationals.

                The Mission FFA team placed third in the preliminary round of competition and earned the Silver Medal Emblem Award for their overall presentation in the event as a whole.

                The team consists of: Vanessa Calderon, president; Johanna Jimenez, secretary; Jose Calderon, member; Rolando Hinojosa, member; Alyssa Flores, member; Itzel Lopez, member; Sebastian Martinez, member; Christopher Venecia, member. Team advisors are Benito Garza and Rolando Gonzalez.

                Individually, team members earned numerous awards for their outstanding performance and scores on the Parliamentary Accreditation Exam. Jose Calderon and Vanessa Calderon earned gold medals for their test scores. Jose placed fourth and Vanessa placed eighth out of 246 students who took the exam at the national competition.  Fellow team members, Johanna Jimenez, Rolando Hinojosa, Alyssa Flores, and Itzel Lopez each earned silver medals for their test scores at nationals. Overall, the team ranked ninth in the nation on the exam portion of the parliamentary procedure contest.

                Additionally, several team members earned a certification as an Accredited Parliamentarian (AP) by the Society of Agricultural Education Parliamentarians (SAEP). They are: Vanessa Calderon, Jose Calderon, Johanna Jimenez, Alyssa Flores, Rolando Hinojosa, and the team’s advisor, Benito Garza. The certification is awarded based upon exceptional scores earned on the parliamentary procedure examination.

                The Mission FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team’s road to nationals began last fall in leadership development events. In late 2012, the team won the state FFA senior conducting team (parliamentary procedure) competition, earning them a spot at nationals. The national events are much different than the Texas events and required the team to make major adjustments and learn new approaches. The team was given the honor of performing a parliamentary procedure problem demonstration in the Texas State Senate Chambers and for the State Board of Education earlier this fall, as they made their final preparations for the national competition.

                The Mission FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team thanks their parents, teachers and everyone who has supported and encouraged them at each level as they worked toward the national competition. A special thank you was also indicated from the team to Mission Mayor, Norberto “Beto” Salinas for his continuous assistance, contribution and commitment to the team.

                Pictured are members of the Mission FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team after accepting the Silver Medal Emblem Award. On the front row from left to right are: Jose Calderon, Vanessa Calderon, Itzel Lopez. On the back row from left to right are: Alyssa Flores, Sebastian Martinez, Christopher Venecia, Johanna Jimenez, Rolando Hinojosa.

Published Print